CDC: Monkeypox now confirmed in 12 US states

WASHINGTON – Monkeypox cases continue to rise and have now been confirmed in 12 US states and Washington D.C., according to new data from the Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

There are now 31 Americans who have contracted monkeypox or are presumed to have it after testing positive for orthopoxvirus, the family of viruses to which monkeypox belongs, The Hill reported quoting CDC data.

New York has the most cases (7), followed by California (6), Florida (4), Colorado (3), Illinois (2) and Utah (2). Washington D.C., Georgia, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Washington all have one confirmed case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *